item1a2 item1a1b item1a1a1a2 item1a1a1a1b item1a1a1a1a2 item1a1a1a1a1b item1a1a1a1a1a2 item1a1a1a1a1a1b

Local Government Boundary Commission proposes that electoral division boundaries should be redrawn before 2017 elections

When Cornwall Council was established as a unitary council in 2009, the 6 former district councils and the county council were abolished to be replaced by the new Cornwall Council. There had been approximately 350 elected councillors in the district and county councils. In the new body, there are 123 elected councillors.

Boundaries of the electoral divisions were drawn in draft form prior to the 2009 election. After this election, revisions were made to the boundaries of many of the divisions in time for the elections in 2013.

It had been assumed by Cornwall Council that the boundaries and number of councillors would remain as they are for the 2017 elections. It was also assumed that, after the 2017 elections, the number of councillors and the electoral boundaries would be reconsidered in time for the elections in 2021. Such a review would be able to take account of changes in functions etc. that might happen as a result of the devolution deal agreed between the Council and the government.

However, in November 2015, the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE), the body with the legal duty to consider and to decide on these matters, announced that it would be carrying out a review of the number of councillors in Cornwall and the electoral divsion boundaries prior to the 2017 elections. This proposal has met with unanimous opposition from the leaders of all groups on Cornwall Council and a letter has been despatched to the chair of the LGBCE making our views clear and asking that they reconsider the proposed timetable.

See letter to LGBCE


December 2015

item1a1a1b item1a1a2 item1a1b