item1a2 item1a1b item1a1a1a2 item1a1a1a1b item1a1a1a1a2 item1a1a1a1a1b item1a1a1a1a1a2 item1a1a1a1a1a1b

Negotiations between Independents and Liberal Democrats result in new Leader being elected at County Hall

Although the Conservatives won the most seats at the elections on 4 May, they were well short of having a majority in the Chamber. In order to form an administration, they needed to reach an agreement with another group that would have secured that majority. Their negotiations with the Independent group did not result in an agreement.

The Independents and the Liberal Democrats then negotiated an agreement the result of which was that, at the Full Council meeting of 23 May, Adam Paynter, a Liberal Democrat, was elected as Leader of the Council. He appointed Julian German, Independent, as the deputy Leader. Adam will announce who the rest of his Cabinet is within the next week. It is anticipated that he will appoint another 4 Liberal Democrats and 4 Independents to form the Cabinet totalling 10 councillors.

The new chairman of the Council is Mary May, Independent, and the vice chairman is Hilary Frank, Liberal Democrat.

The committee structure on the Council has been changed since the last Council after a comprehensive governance review was carried out. There are now 5 overview and scrutiny committees, each comprising 15 members, dealing with the different parts of the Council’s operations.

In addition, there are the usual planning and licensing committees plus other committees dealing with areas such as audit, pensions, constitution and governance, standards, inshore fisheries, harbours etc. Full details can be viewed on the Council’s website.

The membership of all of these committees is based upon the concept of political proportionality so that all groups on the Council have a fair share of seats and have opportunities to influence what goes on in the Council.



May 2017

item1a1a1b item1a1a2 item1a1b